Star Trek: Nemesis (2002) Dir. Stuart Baird

Star-Trek-Nemesis

I know they can’t all be winners, but it’s too bad Star Trek: Nemesis wound up being my least favorite of all the Star Trek films.  It might be a stretch to say its the worst Star Trek film, but for me it’s the most dark and depressing out of all them.  Patrick Stewart really shows his age here, as does the rest of the TNG crew.  The thing that disappointed me most out of this film was that Worf (my favorite TNG character) was completely useless.  Most of the cast members in fact blend into the background and aren’t terribly noticeable.  The big trio, Picard, Riker, and Data get all the best action scenes and story material, but everyone just seems old and tired.  I almost wish they had just left the series with Insurrection and let that be the end of it.  It wasn’t a great film, but it was far more enjoyable and lighthearted than this.

I’m going to keep this review short because there’s not a whole lot I want to discuss about this movie.  But it’s just a disappointment from the get go.  Even when we’re introduced to the crew at Riker and Troi’s wedding, the humor is off and a little hard to sit through.  Sadly, it’s the only light moment in the film.  The thing with Patrick Stewart showing his age also has an effect on his character.  He just seems out of touch with Picard in this film.  It’s supposed to be a jarring moment that he faces the cloned younger version of himself.  But he doesn’t seem to care that much, and his younger self from his perspective could probably use a good whipping to straighten him out.  Stewart as Picard just doesn’t seem like he’s all there, which is surprising because I’ve seen him put far more energy into performances after this film was released.  Michael Dorn as Worf has also noticeably slowed down and just doesn’t have his aggressive fighting energy that we’re so accustomed to.  I wish the script could have done more to play up their age a bit.

Data’s story is also a disappointment.  I know he’s a popular character, but I never really liked that all the attention was put on him, and that the feature films catered to him for bigger story lines.  This is where I wish these films had allowed themselves to focus on other characters.  If any character deserved a terrific death scene, it’s Worf, who has lived his whole life for battle.  To give him a powerful death scene and have him go down fighting would have been much more impactful (at least for me it would!)  I’m amazed that when Data is seeing Geordi for the last time, the two of them don’t speak.  I think Geordi knows Data is on a suicide mission.  To have him not react to his friend leaving or fighting to understand what he’s doing seems out of place.  I never cared for it.

The rest of the crew just sort of fades into the background.  Troi is given some extra stuff, such as a sexual “mind rape” scene.  But not enough is done to show this having a bigger impact on her.  None of the other characters are really given anything interesting to do.  It’s just a weak film.

Blah.  I don’t like this film.  It depresses me that TNG had to end on such a sour note.  I don’t even care for the visual effects.  I mentioned that I also found Star Trek: The Motion Picture to also be a disappointment, but the model work in that film is pure eye candy.  They did an incredible job.  Here with the advent of digital effects, everything being CG just takes away the craftsmanship and beauty of those models.

Okay, I’m done talking about this movie.  It’s bad.  If you’ve seen it once, I don’t think you need a reason to revisit it again.  What a waste.

Leave a Reply

