Oscars Tonight and A Year in Review

moonrise-kingdom-lighthouse

Tonight is the Academy Awards Show.  I thought the list of nominations this year were extremely disappointing.  In my opinion none of the films that received the highest honors were great, with a handful being good and some just downright terrible (Why exactly are there 9 films nominated for Best Picture?).  I’ve compiled for you my film reviews for 2012 for the ones that are up for Oscars, and below I listed my favorite movies of the year which I felt were completely snubbed by the Academy (Especially my two favorite movies last year, Looper and Moonrise Kingdom.  What gives?!)  I have not seen all the films that were nominated this year, but these were all the films I happened to write reviews for.  I did see Argo, which is probably the strongest of the films I’ve seen, but never got around to writing a review for it.

BEST PICTURE NOMINATIONS:
Lincoln
Silver Linings Playbook
Django Unchained

ANIMATED SHORT FILM NOMINATIONS:
Head Over Heels
Adam and Dog
Paperman

ANIMATED FEATURE NOMINATION REVIEWS:
The Pirates!:Band of Misfits
Brave
Paranorman
Wreck-it Ralph

GREAT FILMS THAT WERE ROBBED!:
Looper, including my SPOILER REVIEW
Moonrise Kingdom
Dredd
Cloud Atlas
Flight

Leave a Reply

