Fall Movies 2012

Fall is here, which means there’s a whole slew of interesting films coming out.  I put on my skeptics hat for a few of them, because this past summer I wrote a list and certain films I was most looking forward to (ahem, Prometheus) turned out to be such tremendous backfires.  But some of these look really good, and I can tell by November I will have my butt in a theater practically every week to check out all the most anticipated films.  November also happens to be my birthday month, and this year for my birthday I get a Sam Mendes directed James Bond movie!  And it looks terrific too!  So here are 8 films I wanna see this Fall and Winter.

LOOPER: Release Date: September 28th
I’ve been looking forward to this film for the last few months now.  It just sounds like a great action sci-fi premise  Here’s a synopsis:  Looper is set in the year 2042, Joe (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) is one of several mafia-employed assassins known as ‘loopers’ who are tasked with ‘taking out the future’s garbage’. The targets are delivered from 30 years in the future to a waiting looper, who puts a bullet in their head, burns the body and collects their earnings. Loopers are well paid, but when the bosses decide it’s time to ‘close the loop’ and they send back your own future self back for assassination, leaving you with only 30 years to live. Later in the film Joe’s loop is to be closed, but his older self (Bruce Willis) escapes, which is very bad news, bringing the mafia on the hunt to kill both Joe’s.”

Sound complicated?  Maybe a little.  Does it look good?  Hell yes!  Thankfully this movie comes out tomorrow, and I will have a review up for it very soon after I see it.  I can’t wait!

CLOUD ATLAS: Release date: October 26th
This is a huge epic film coming from the Wachowski Brothers (The Matrix).  It looks stunningly beautiful and the cast is tremendous, featuring Tom Hanks, Hugo Weaving, Susan Sarandon, Halle Berry, Jim Broadbent, Keith David, and Hugh Grant just to name a few.  It takes place over several time periods.  A plot synopsis reveals this:  An exploration of how the actions of individual lives impact one another in the past, present and future, as one soul is shaped from a killer into a hero, and an act of kindness ripples across centuries to inspire a revolution.

Now, this looks really good, but in the back of my mind this can wind up being another Prometheus.  Ridley Scott was an incredible director.  And while the Watchowskis have made some terrific and diverse films (The Matrix, Speed Racer), they also have the dreaded Matrix sequels on their resumes.  We’ll see.  The running time is almost 3 hours long!  Hopefully it stays engaging that whole time.

Here’s the extended 5 1/2 minute trailer:

WRECK IT RALPH: Release Date:  November 2nd
As with all modern day animation, I’m skeptical about this one.  I like the kind of Toy Story for Video Games aspect, and it’s fun seeing all the classic video game characters Disney has managed to license.  The trailer looks fun, but I also sense the dreaded “life affirming message”, with the dreaded fish out of water character learning how they should be themselves (it seems like this message never stopped after Aladdin came out).  BUT…there is one really good thing going for it.  The director is Rich Moore, who not only directed on Futurama and The Simpsons, as a director he was responsible for some of the most classic Simpsons episodes in the first 4 to 5 seasons (Marge vs. the Monorail, Cape Feare).  So the guy knows how to be funny.  I really hope this doesn’t disappoint.

SKYFALL:  Release Date: November 9th
My birthday release for the year!  A new James Bond film directed by Sam Mendes (American Beauty, Road to Perdition, Revolutionary Road).  Mendes is one of my favorite directors, and to see what he might do with a James Bond film excites me to no end.  The trailers for this look terrific.  I can’t wait!

LIFE OF PI:  Release Date: November 21st
Here’s another film that can go both ways, either it will be incredibly engaging, beautiful, and stunning, or it will be beautiful and stunning and completely boring.  Ang Lee is directing, and we all know he is a master of stunning visuals and can create compelling stories (Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon).  I’ll have to wait and see about this one, but I am looking forward to it. 

THE HOBBIT: AN UNEXPECTED JOURNEY:  Release date: December 14th
Okay….well, its always nice to venture back into The Lord of the Rings.  And it looks pretty good to.  I’m curious as to what this 48fps thing is going to look like.  Will it revolutionize cinema?  I’m wondering if its going to look too real…there is something about seeing films at 24fps that makes it just slightly off kilter from real life, which for me puts cinema on a level apart from reality.  But this looks fun.  We’ll see soon enough!

HYDE PARK ON HUDSON: Release Date:  December 7th
Bill Murray as FDR?  I’m there!  The story is set around the love affair between FDR and his distant cousin Margaret Stuckley, centered around the weekend in 1939 when the King and Queen of the United Kingdom visited upstate New York.  Sounds good to me.

DJANGO UNCHAINED:  Release Date: December 25th
Here’s the latest from Quentin Tarantino coming out soon.  I’m looking forward to seeing Tarantino do a Western, and the cast featuring Jamie Foxx, Leonardo Di Caprio, and Samual L. Jackson sounds great.  Seeing the trailer though, the only thing that bugs me is Di Caprio’s southern accent.  I’ve heard him try different voices for characters in other films, like J. Edgar and in all honesty he really just doesn’t sell it for me.  But we’ll see, aside from that this movie looks like its going to be a lot of fun.

 So November especially looks to be the month for some really great movies this fall.  There are a few I know I haven’t added here like Frankenweenie, but that film just doesn’t get me excited, and Tim Burton has pretty much lost me.  But it looks like there’s some pretty good stuff headed our way, and of course, Fall is when all the wannabe Oscar pictures come out.  So it should be an interesting couple of months ahead! 

Leave a Reply

