Sometimes it’s best just to say no. Sorry Prometheus, not this time.

Sometimes it’s best to just say no and sit one out.  I looked forward to this film for awhile and judging from the trailers it definitely looked interesting.  But then I started to hear things…it was a prequel to Alien, but there would be no mention of the alien creature.  And then the reviews started coming in about its confusing premise and themes regarding faith and religion.  The more I started to hear all of this, it just got to the point where I just said, “no thanks”.  
I guess my first most confused question is…why would you do an Alien prequel with no mention of the alien creature?  What’s the point?  Why does it have to be the space jockey, why can’t it just be an original sci-fi story about a group of visitors who find a dead alien race on a far off planet?  I don’t want the mystery of the Alien mythology imposed upon if it’s going to have nothing to do with the rest of the series.  It feels like more of a marketing ploy to get people in theaters if they think there’s going to be some connection to Alien, because Ridley Scott or Damon Lindoff couldn’t sell their hi brow script without it having some marketable connection.  It’s just bullshit.  The Alien franchise has suffered enough under the bad decision making of studio executives in its existence.  Like killing off Newt and Hicks, and just not cutting Ripely a break and letting the gal rest in peace.  Don’t even get me started on the whole Alien Vs. Predator thing.  And now to destroy the mystery of the very essence of the origin of the series?  No, I’m not buying into it this time.    
Maybe it’s because I’m getting older.  I’m tired of getting hyped up for movies over a year in advance only to have the story fall apart on me.  I also just came to the conclusion of…if I’m going to watch the mystery of the space jockey revealed to me, do I really want the explanation to be centered around religion?  From the screenwriter who brought us the horribly religiously saccharine ending to the TV series Lost?  No, thank you.  I’m done.  Sir Ridley sounds like he’s gone the way of Tim Burton and George Lucas, surrounded by “yes” men, who won’t tell them when to say “no”, or at least, to “just let it go”.  
I’m just tired of it.  Tired of having my expectations thwarted every time by second rate screenwriters who are always hired to write these tent pole features.  I’m sorry for those who loved and got hyped up over Super 8, but J.J. Abrams is not the next Steven Spielberg.  And the great directors we all grew up with are waning now.  It’s time to hire fresh directors, and its time for those new directors to surround themselves with people they trust creatively who have the balls to tell them no when an idea sucks.  The film shouldn’t be in service to egos, or what’s going to make money based on formula ideas that have been done over and over again (and yes, I’m even looking at you Pixar).  It should be in service to the characters and the story first…and whether or not the creators actually have something to say.  Getting constantly gyped with bad endings or a weak third act just gets tiresome, as we watch characters make stupid decisions to force the plot to go one way (as we see the hand of the filmmaker intruding on them) instead of letting the characters speak for themselves and tell their own story.  
Every once in awhile when a tent pole movie comes along, sometimes it is best to know when to say no, and I think Prometheus is one of those occasions.  The rest of the world has spoken for me, so I don’t think there’s a need to investigate any further.  Count me out.  
Leave a Reply

